An information portal of the Federal government and the Länder

German-French Commission (DFK)

The German-French Commission on the Safety of Nuclear Installations (DFK) was founded in 1976 in an exchange of letters between the German Minister of the Interior, at the time responsible for nuclear safety and radiation protection issues, and the French Minister of Industry on cooperation in the areas of nuclear safety and radiation protection. The agreement arose due to the construction of nuclear power plants in the border regions of Germany and France and the resulting need for mutual information.


Year established 1976
Participating authorities
  • Germany: Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Nuclear Safety and Consumer Protection (BMUV; lead responsibility); the competent federal state ministries in Baden-Württemberg, Rhineland-Palatinate and Saarland
  • France: Autorité de Sûreté Nucléaire (French Nuclear Safety Authority, ASN)
Meetings Annual, chair alternates
Tasks The DFK facilitates bilateral cooperation, in particular exchange of information. Topics covered include the safety of nuclear facilities, emergency response planning and radiation protection.
Working groups
  • WG 1 Safety of Pressurized Water Reactors (PWRs)
  • WG 2 Emergency response planning